Icestorm08 and media withdrawals

I have never really given much thought to the fact that I use the internet and cable TV almost 10 hours a day. I just went about my day using the web for work, pleasure, and when I just needed to know something.

And when it comes to Cable TV and Tivo, it’s just part of my day, like eating, breathing, drinking water. Now being without the modern conveniences of the internet and cable, for 4 days so far, I am shocked at my level of addiction. At first I thought without web and TV I would read, or get cleaning done. But instead it has made me majorly depressed. I am a social media junkie for one thing. Using my Blackberry to do as much Twittering as I can is not cutting it, with my one bar of service from AT&T. I need my TweetDeck! I need to know what is going on out there! I need links to click on! I need to know people’s opinions, and read their blogs. I need you to talk to me and validate that I am here and a person participating! I can’t watch a video on YouTube, or iTunes or Blip.tv. I can’t download Lost Season 4 so I am ready to go in Jan for Season 5. I can’t search Google to get the phone number of the closest Grocery store to see if they are open and with power.

The TV part is what I am even more ashamed of being in withdrawals of, but I rationalize that I have been watching TV since i was born! I am of that generation that the TV raised me, it is my friend, companion, and my source of information sometimes. So, what do I miss the most in TV? It seems silly but it’s the shows I watch every day! the Daily show, Family Guy, Seinfeld, and the NEWS. Luckily it’s Christmas time so I am not missing my regular shows since they are in repeats until Jan.

But again, not having the news via TV or internet, is another example of realizing what I take for granted. I am news starved right now! what is going on in our surrounding towns? What is the progress of restoring the power? What is the weather forecast? For National news I can get bits and pieces from Twitter on my Blackberry, but it’s far from comprehensive, and like I said, I can’t click on links to read more, too low signal here in the woods.

When I chose to live here, not once did I think about the possibility of losing power for days or weeks (please not weeks). Or that I would not be able to get out of our driveway in snow storms. Thank God we made sure the generator came with the house! At least we have power to run our pump and have lights and power to play games on the computer. The wood stove is providing plenty of heat, and hubby had the foresight to make sure we had plenty of wood for the winter.

I guess my point here is that because of my addiction to all things internet and TV, I feel completely depressed and paralyzed. On top of the regular Seasonal Affected Disorder (Winter, shorter days, holidays). I can barely get out of bed, do household chores and play with the children. I am mad at myself for not embracing this time to grow closer as a family or get things done around the house. But I just can’t! It is a very strange and an uncomfortable feeling and I stress to you to be thankful and aware of your modern media consumption.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Icestorm08 and media withdrawals

  1. I’m sure it’s no fun but hang in there! It’ll all be over soon and then you’ll all look back and laugh.

    “Remember the time we didn’t have power for a week and mommy went crazy?”

    x

  2. Need me to set up some RSS to Email feeds for you? 🙂

  3. Rabbit

    “I wish the #Lost characters were on Twitter, that would be fun, like #Madmen”

    Just as a note, while it isn’t official there are some twitters with LOST characters.

    Twitter.com/John_Locke_
    Twitter.com/Hugo_Reyes

  4. Stumbled upon your blog via twitter and found you suffering from same syndrome as me 🙂

    http://nishitd.blogspot.com/2008/12/guess-who-needs-life.html

Leave a comment