Music throughout my life thus far…

75 Bands Cleverly Represented In This PictureImage by ClintJCL via Flickr

Bands/Artists I have seen perform:

Recently I was in the car riding home from our vacation in Deer Isle, ME.  It is a 5+ hour ride and I decided to start listing on my Blackberry all the concerts I have seen over the years.  After racking my brain to remember some of those concerts, I turned on the Sirius in the car and started scanning channels for artists to see if it sparked anything I had forgotten.

So here is my list, I am sure it is missing some.  I only chose national acts to list. No particular order.

  • The Cramps
  • Stereo MCs James
  • Book of Love
  • Lou Reed
  • John Doe
  • Jon Spenser Blues Explosion
  • Fugazi
  • Seal
  • Ween
  • Yes
  • Eddie Vedder
  • Tom Petty
  • Steve Winwood
  • REM
  • 10,000 Maniacs
  • The Kinks
  • The Smithereens
  • Lee Rocker
  • New Order
  • Prince
  • Erasure
  • Adam Ant
  • Who
  • Live (7 times)
  • Janes Addiction
  • Pearl Jam (5 times)
  • Nirvana
  • Collective Soul (5 times)
  • The Cure
  • B52s
  • Blondie
  • Talking Heads
  • Beastie Boys
  • Echo and the Bunnynen
  • Stone Temple Pilots
  • Black Crows
  • Squeeze
  • Crowded House
  • Living Color (2 times)
  • Social Distortion
  • Roxy Music
  • Tom Tom Club
  • Bryan Ferry
  • Thompson Twins
  • Til Tuesday
  • Peter Gabriel (5 times)
  • Genesis
  • U2
  • J Geils Band (2 times)
  • The Cult
  • Lenny Kravitz (2 times)
  • Public Image Ltd
  • Big Audio Dynamite
  • Sinead O’Connor
  • Madonna
  • The Godfathers
  • Camper Van Beethoven
  • Ministry
  • Kiss (2 times)
  • Nine Inch Nails
  • The Pretenders
  • Iggy Pop
  • The Tubes
  • Goo Goo Dolls
  • Sheryl Crow
  • Pink Floyd
  • Beach Boys
  • Siouxie & the Banshees
  • Rollins Band
  • Violent Femmes
  • Ice-T & Body count
  • Butthole Surfers
  • The Ramones
  • Rickie Lee Jones
  • David Bowie
  • Lucious Jackson
  • The Killers
  • The Monkees
  • Steve Winwood
  • Jeff Buckley
  • Psychedelic Furs
  • Fiona Apple
  • L7
  • Chris Isaak
  • The Tragically Hip

Bands/Artists I hope to see before it’s too late:

  • The Rolling Stones
  • BB King
  • Foo Fighters
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • AC/DC
  • Led Zeppelin
  • Stevie Wonder
  • Elvis Costello
  • Neil Young
  • Elton John
  • Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young
  • Green Day
  • Tina Turner
  • No Doubt
  • Sonic Youth
  • Jethro Tull
  • Liz Phair
  • The Smashing Pumpkins
  • Bjork
  • The White Stripes
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • Devo
  • The Police
  • George Michael
  • Eurythmics
  • Cake
  • Heart
  • Joe Jackson
  • Portishead
  • The Raconteurs

I obviously have many more concerts to attend, so I better start saving my dollars now.  What concerts have I not seen that I should add to my list?

So you might ask out off all those artists I have seen, who was the best?  Well I can tell you that there are many, and most of the repeat concerts are my favorites. But getting to see Roxy Music, Talking Heads, & U2, to name a few, I will always be greatful.

Music is so important in life, it evokes a feeling, a memory,  a sense of belonging in the world, bringing people together all over the earth.   And I am always in awe of how talented musicians are and wish I had even an inkling of that talent and gift.

So to quote Neil Young, “Keep on rockin’ in the free world”!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Music throughout my life thus far…

  1. What a list! I haven’t seen nearly that many shows. I’m really jealous.

    And that’s an awesome “To See” list, by the way. I saw Green Day back in the day, but would love to see them now to see how much things have changed. And I would kill to see Heart and the Foo Fighters. Those would both be awesome, methinks.

  2. Wow, that’s an impressive list. I’ve seen many of these bands live as well. I live in DC, we used to have an annual festival called the HFStival with a local radio station, but those days are gone.
    Its amazing how hearing a song or even seeing a list like this can take you back and remember so much about years gone by.

  3. Holy fiddle stix you went to a lot!!!

    I’ve been to that many but they were just grateful dead concerts

  4. Dee

    Dam Girl are you sure you’re only 29 ???? You’ve seen an awful lot of bands. miss you…gotta catch up in Portsmouth soon.

Leave a comment